Our Board

‘Akona Te Mahi Pai’ – Learn to work well and enjoy its challenge.

All of New Zealand’s state and state-integrated schools have a board of trustees. The board of trustees is the Crown entity responsible for the governance and the control of the management of the school. The board is the employer of all staff in the school, is responsible for setting the school’s strategic direction in consultation with parents, staff and students, and ensuring that its school provides a safe environment and quality education for all its students. Boards are also responsible for overseeing the management of personnel, curriculum, property, finance and administration.

  • Annual Financial Statements 2023

Board Meeting Dates

All meetings are in the school board room from 4.30-6.30pm

27 February

19 March

21 May

2 July

13 August

24 September

19 November

Our Board of Trustees

Towards Flourshing

At the start of the year the decision was made to focus on six areas of priority over the coming year.

  • Working with the school management to develop a Master property plan (including community liaison processes)
  • Overseeing school self-review processes (including working with the learning advisory committee)
  • Consolidating Board processes and updating the Trustee Handbook as required
  • Developing a communications plan for the Board so there is more of a connection between Board activities and our community
  • Developing processes so the Board can review its own performance
  • Taking responsibility for the Principal’s appraisal

In order to avoid overcrowding, or the likelihood of overcrowding, and to ensure that in zone students from Western Porirua can be accommodated, the board of Mana College has adopted an enrolment scheme which has been approved by the Ministry of Education. Under this scheme, students will be enrolled if they live within the home zone described below.

The northern boundary runs from Mana Island around the coastal area of Titahi Bay North. The boundary around to Onepoto Road and continues along both sides of Titahi Bay Road. Where Titahi Bay Road meets Wi Neera Drive, the boundary continues along Wi Neera Drive then goes across Porirua Stream to SH1 and then runs down SH1 down to the Porirua and Wellington Council boundary. The Southern Boundary runs down Kenepuru Drive. Wall Place is included with in Zone, Rembrandt Avenue is not in zone. Broken Hill Road and all addresses off it are in zone. The southern Boundary then follows the Porirua/Wellington Council boundary to the coast. The scheme then runs out to Mana Island. Mana Island is in zone.

The enrolment of out of zone students is governed by the provisions of the Education Act 1989. The enrolment scheme, which includes a precise description of the home zone, may be viewed at the school office or on the school website.

The enrolment scheme for Mana College will come into effect at 9 am on 1 January 2019.

Ranei Wineera-Parai
Ranei Wineera-ParaiParent Elected Trustee
Boyd ScirkovichParent Selected Trustee
Jodi Bishop
Jodi BishopPresiding Member
John Murdoch
John MurdochPrincipal
Ngahuia MaddenStaff Trustee
Macky Temarama
Macky TemaramaStudent Trustee

Mana College Policies

To access our school policies please go to Schooldocs

Username: mana

Password: manapolicies