Enrolment Zone
Enrolment Scheme

Mana College enrolments are controlled by an enrolment scheme which helps us to manage the growth of the school. This means that students who live in our zone are guaranteed acceptance if they choose to enrol with us. 

Mana College Home Zone

The Enrolment scheme home zone includes addresses on both sides of boundary roads unless otherwise stated

The northern boundary runs from Mana Island around the coastal area of Titahi Bay North. The boundary around to Onepoto Road and continues along both sides of Titahi Bay Road.

Where Titahi Bay Road meets Wi Neera Drive, the boundary continues along Wi Neera Drive then goes across Porirua Stream to SH1 and then runs down SH1 down to the Porirua and Wellington Council boundary.

The Southern Boundary runs down Kenepuru Drive. Wall Place is included with in Zone. Rembrandt Avenue is NOT in zone.

Broken Hill Road and all addresses off it are in zone.

The southern Boundary then follows the Porirua/ Wellington Council boundary to the coast.

The scheme then runs out to Mana Island. Mana Island is in zone.

Special Programmes

The school operates the following special programmes:

  • Te Whare Ako
  • Service Academy

Students who live within the school’s home zone and meet the criteria for enrolment in the special programme will be enrolled ahead of eligible out–of-zone students.

The criteria for acceptance into the special programmes are as follows:

Te Whare Ako:

  1. Students have an intellectual impairment and be ORRS verified or expected to be verified on application. Proof of eligibility may be required.
  2. There is a space within the unit under the roll cap provision for 25 students.

Services Academy:

  1. Students meet the criteria for Services Academy.
  2. Parents have requested a unit placement for their child.
  3. There is a space within the academy under the roll cap provision for 20 students.
  4. Within the roll cap applications which meet the criteria in (d.) above will be accepted on a first come, first served basis.

Out of Zone Enrolments

Each year the board will determine the number of places which are likely to be available in the following year for the enrolment of students who live outside the home zone. The board will publish this information by notice in a daily or community newspaper circulating in the area served by the school. The notice will indicate how applications are to be made and will specify a date by which all applications must be received. 

Priority for enrolment at Mana College is specified under the Education Act. Students are accepted in the following order of priority:

First Priority Te Whare Ako / Service Academy
Second Priority Will be given to applicants who are siblings of current students.
Third Priority Will be given to applicants who are siblings of former students.
Fourth Priority Will be given to applicants who are children of former students.
Fifth Priority Will be given to applicants who are either a child of an employee of the board of the school or a child of a member of the board of the school.
Sixth Priority Will be given to all other applicants. 

© 2021 Mana College | Terms & Conditions
Powered by Rainbow Creative | 23 Sep 2021 | Admin